Posted in Choose-Your-Own-Adventure

Interruption

Today, we interrupt our regularly scheduled program (pitching tips and tricks, check back tomorrow) to bring you this message: things do not normally go as planned. Be prepared for contingencies.

Starting a business is certainly an adventure. This should not detour you from following you dream. Case in point, my plans turned upside down this week. I originally intended Sweet Cream Cupcakery to launch as a catering and online-order business in Denver knowing that my husband and I would need to relocate soon after. After relocating, I planned to continue the catering and online-order model while working to expand into a storefront.

Enter the surprise.

Instead of one relocation, we are likely to relocate as many as 4 times in a year beginning June, 2012. Makes starting a business tough, right? Sure, but this where the cheerleaders we talked about a while back jump to your rescue (substitute encouragement, need, assistance here, as desired).

Cheerleader 1 Looks like Sweet Cream Cupcakery needs to go on tour! Brand the heck out of it, gather a following and create demand for those cupcakes wherever you go.

Cheerleader 2 This just forces you to create something that is not limited by geographical barriers. Consider different target markets. This could definitely work!

Cheerleader 3 You’ll make it happen. Thankfully, you’re willing to start without a store front. Your online orders will allow you to make a go of it.

The moment I was feeling a little discouraged and perplexed about the whole thing, these cheerleaders were ready and waiting to help. Thank you! Thank you!

Today, I just wanted to share a heartfelt reminder that things will not go according to plan. Don’t lose heart. Your cheerleaders are behind you. YOU are behind you! If it’s meant to be, you can definitely make it happen.

Happy Launching!

Author:

My name is Emalee. In 90 days (give or take a few), I will be launching Sweet Cream Cupcakery, a cupcake catering business that will hopefully grow into a physical retail store and national franchise. This blog will profile my efforts as I prepare to launch Sweet Cream Cupcakery, with the goal of making it easier for other entrepreneurs to launch their businesses in the future. Please let me know if you have any specific topics you would like me to cover, and keep me posted on your entrepreneurial efforts as well! I am currently an MBA candidate, with a concentration in Innovation and Entrepreneurship, at the University of Denver. I am spending the summer in Peoria, IL exploring my entrepreneurial spirit while my husband completes an internship with Caterpillar.

One thought on “Interruption

Leave a comment